Domain Name Life Cycle Cosmo System Support Team February 19, 2016 08:01 Follow Have more questions? Submit a request 1 Comments Date Votes 0 Cosmo System Support Team February 19, 2016 08:01 Available Domain Names The first stage in any domain name lifecycle is when it is available. This is when a domain name is not registered by anyone and is available. You can then register the domain name for a period up to 10 years. Registered Period The domain name will become active and registered once you have paid for it. After registration the domain must stay with the current registrar for a minimum period of 60 days. After this it can be transferred to other registrar. The domain name will remain registered for the duration of the term paid for. After this you will need to renew the domain name if you still want to keep it. Expired Period The domain name will be deactivated within 24 hours of the domain name expiring. The registrar will typically hold the domain which prevents your website and email from working. However, this also means that you will be able to renew the domain name for the normal price if you want. When the domain is expired it is not possible to transfer to another registrar unless you first renew it. This makes it difficult to manage expired domain names. A domain name will generally stay expired for between 0 and 45 days, depending on the registrar’s policies and processes. Redemption (Grace) Period At the conclusion of the expired period, the domain name will enter a 30 day redemption period. During this period the majority of registrars will delete all the information about the domain. The domain will be removed which will make getting it back very expensive. The cost of recover the domain name is very high. Pending Delete Period After the 30 day redemption period, the domain name enters the pending delete period (a few days). At this time, the domain cannot be restored. This domain is destined for deletion from the registry, and there’s nothing you can do about it. You will need to wait while the domain name is deleted before you can register it again. This also means that other people can register the domain which risks you losing it. Please sign in to leave a comment.